Event dates

Race Dates of the Summer Series

Race dates - Live Broadcast with commentary

Watch the Formula Pi live stream on YouTube
Click on the dates for the time/date in your country

Mon 8th May - Race 1 heats 1&2
Wed 10th May - Race 1 heats 3&4
Thu 11th May - Race 1 heats 5&6

Mon 22nd May - Race 2 heats 1&2
Wed 24th May - Race 2 heats 3&4
Thu 25th May - Race 2 heats 5&6

Mon 19th Jun - Race 3 heats 1&2
Wed 21st Jun - Race 3 heats 3&4
Thu 22nd Jun - Race 3 heats 5&6

Mon 3rd July - Race 4 heats 1&2
Wed 5th July - Race 4 heats 3&4
Thu 6th July - Race 4 heats 5&6

Mon 17th July - Elimination Rounds
Wed 19th July - Finals

All the above are broadcast at these times:
18:00 BST (17:00 GMT) - Grand Pi Live Broadcast
18:30 BST (17:30 GMT) - Monster Live Broadcast

We will only run as many heats as we need to based on competitor numbers. Each heat will have 5 robots.


Testing dates - Live stream, no commentary

26th April - Testing round 0
27th April - Testing round 0 overflow

3rd May - Testing round 1
4th May - Testing round 1 overflow

15th May - Testing round 2
17th May - Testing round 2 overflow
18th May - Testing round 2 overflow

5th Jun - Testing round 2
7th Jun - Testing round 2 overflow
8th Jun - Testing round 2 overflow

26th Jun - Testing round 3
28th Jun - Testing round 3 overflow
29th Jun - Testing round 3 overflow

10th July - Testing round for Eliminations/Final

All the above are broadcast at these times:
18:00 BST - Grand Pi Live Broadcast
18:30 BST - Monster Live Broadcast


Code submission dates for competitors

21st Apr - Code due for Testing session 0
28th Apr - Code due for Testing session 1
5th May - Code due for Race 1
12th May - Code due for Testing session 2
19th May - Code due for Race 2
2nd Jun - Code due for Testing session 3
16th Jun - Code due for Race 3
23rd Jun - Code due for Testing session 4
30th Jun - Code due for Race 4
7th Jul - Code due for Final Testing session *Top 10 from each class
14th Jul - Code due for Elimination Race *Top 10 from each class

Finals will use elimination code that was submitted.

All code submission deadlines are by: 12:00 GMT (13:00 BST)


On or before 10th April, the final code will be available for all competitors to download. In the meantime, our Formula pi blog has useful information to help you get started.

Entries for the Summer Series close on 30th April 2017. No further entries for this season will be allowed after this date.

Heat allocations will be emailed to all competitors shortly after the submissions deadline.


Calendar based on UK times

Watch the Formula Pi live stream on YouTube